Remembering on Memorial Day

BlimaiconHello Again–Memorial Day is a time to reflect on the dedication and sacrifice of our troops.  I will forever be grateful to the valiant soldiers who liberated my parents and other survivors from under the heavy hand of Nazi domination.  Each day I am aware of the young men and women who undergo toil and sacrifice to keep our nation whole and safe.  And, like my parents, I am so very grateful that I and my family are citizens of the United States.  Thank you.

IMG_1028

On Sunday I was able to view patriotism up close as I witnessed the stunning parade of motorcyclists honking and showing their colors near the Washington mall.  Although I was an hour late for a book signing, I couldn’t help but feel inspired and proud at the display.

The book signing of MY MOTHER’S SHOES at the US Holocaust Memorial Museum was also a time for remembering.  I have visited the museum several times and it never fails to awe me and, I confess, leave me at a loss for words. I enjoyed meeting so many visitors and having the chance to converse with teenagers, scholars, and people from as far away as Norway.  I even met a former student from Middlesex County College!  Thank you all for your interest and kind words.

Of course it is always a joy to visit my son, Howie, and daughter-in-law, Jaime.  And I can never forget Zoey (hugs and kisses) who continues to charm us and soon will be three.  Thanks so much to my brother-in-law, Mark, and sister-in-law, Michelle, for coming out.  It is always wonderful to see family.  Lastly, my love and thanks to Arthur for driving and shlepping–you are the “bestest” of the best!

About shirleywachtel

Shirley Russak Wachtel is the author of The Story of Blima—A Holocaust Survivor (publ.2005), a novel which recounts the early years of her mother, Betty Weisstuch Russak. The novel s listed as a recommended novel by the New Jersey Commission on Holocaust Education. Wachtel is the author of several children's books, including a series of interactive mysteries, Charlie Wonder, Chef-Detective (2005), which includes several recipes; Brad Sureshot, Coach-Detective (2007) which details basketball skills; and Howie Rocket, World-Traveler-Detective (2009) which has handy foreign language phrases. In The Mellow Light (2009) is her first book of poetry. She is a professor of English at Middlesex County College in New Jersey. In addition, Wachtel is the co-author of Spotlight on Reading (2011), a textbook for college-level students. A mother of three sons, she resides with her husband, Arthur, in East Brunswick, New Jersey. Initially written as a doctoral dissertation for her Doctor of Letters Degree from Drew University, My Mother's Shoes , says Wachtel, is not just the novel of her life, it is the novel of her heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

